Birthday Card Trio

I did not plan to do 3 cards, it just turned out that way!

I needed to make a card for my middle son who just turned 31, so I had to make the much dreaded masculine card.

That is when I decided to do something with the  woodgrain background that I won from an Amuse challenge I participated in. Since he has recently taken an interest in photography, I decided to use an Imaginesce camera stamp that I’ve never used as well as a Heidi Swapp “smile” stamp that I have had forever and never used 😦

On the first card, I had the camera in the middle, smile on the bottom and woodgrain over everything.

I then decided to make the card again, but have the camera directly over the greeting because I felt the camera got a little lost in card #1 . Also, I decided to mask the camera so that the woodgrain would not show up on the image.

Still not totally happy with the card.

So, for card #3 I decided that I would use black chalk ink instead, and color the camera in with copics.

Did not like it.

Thank goodness for clear stamps, because I was able to stamp over the chalk ink images with my black Versafine ink and emboss with clear powder. The camera had been stamped before the woodgrain, so it still shows on the camera, but I re-stamped the greeting after  the woodgrain (over the chalk ink) and embossed with clear powder and I like how it turned out!

Clear as mud?

My vote is for #3

About cindi

card maker, scrapbooker, horse lover, Dashshund owner, cat collector, mother of 3 grown sons, grandmother of 6 , fashion lover, chauffer, cook, doctor, nurse, psychiatrist, photographer etc. etc.
This entry was posted in Card Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

