SCS Christmas Card Challenge 2012/January

I got my 5th card done for the CCC12  over at Splitcoaststampers. I signed up for 5 per month so I have met my goal! I’m going to keep going while I’m on a roll, and credit them for February and so on, so that by fall, I will have (hopefully!) completed them and won’t have to worry about it over the holidays.

What a concept! 😉

This card was a pain in the behind to make. I don’t know why some cards come together so easily and others are a struggle until the bitter end. This one was definitively the latter. Not that it was hard, it just would not come together easily. The colors were hard to match, the reindeer were awkward for a card, the sentiment placement was going to be tricky, etc. etc. etc…. It almost found it’s way into the garbage, but I am stubborn that way!

 Reindeer Greetings~ Paper; Bazzill, K & Co.~ Stamps; Rubber Soul, Inkadinkado~ Ink; Versafine Red Satin~ other; red gems, glitter, Glossy accents, Bobbin ribbon from Michael’s

After putting my first greeting on the reindeer (MM rub-on) it looked very lonely and lost on the card. So after trying NUMEROUS ribbons on the side of the card, I settled on this one since it seemed to make the greeting stand out a little better. (The ribbon color looks a bit “off” in the picture, but it really isn’t too bad!) Next, I get the bright idea to find a few small greetings to put underneath the original greeting but still be close to the same color and scale. I then added red gems to the reindeer noses, and filled in some of the little dots on the patterned paper with Glossy Accents. After those dried, I decided to use a glitter pen and loose glitter to fill in the remaining dots. After drying, they kind of disappeared, so I put glossy accents over those also. Now, I wish I would have done that with all of them.

Anyhow, it is what it is, I’m putting it in the DONE box!

About cindi

card maker, scrapbooker, horse lover, Dashshund owner, cat collector, mother of 3 grown sons, grandmother of 6 , fashion lover, chauffer, cook, doctor, nurse, psychiatrist, photographer etc. etc.
This entry was posted in Card Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

