Christmas Card Challenge 2012

One of my “go-to” websites is having a Christmas Card challenge for 2012. You choose how many cards you want to make per month and then post them to Splitcoaststampers website. It’s totally low-key and is intended to help ease the pressure of card making in the Christmas season. I have  done 2 of the 5 cards per month that I am going to make, and one is doubling for a “numbers” challenge at the A Muse Studio challenge blog.

12.25 Corrugated Tree~ Paper: Bazzill, Paper Zone, patterned paper from scraps~ other; Cricut for numbers and star, Art Institute glitter, Viva Decor Pearl Pen, corrugated cardboard, Heidi Swapp adhesive paper ribbon

I have been seeing a lot of corrugated embellishments on the blogosphere and I have been itching to make something with corrugated paper/cardboard, so I cut the tree into a triangle, made a trunk and used my Viva pen for bulbs. The numbers were cut from my Cricut and glittered with Art Institute glue and glitter. This takes a while to dry because the glue is thick and tacky, but it is the best way to have your glitter stay in place after it dries. The music notes are adhesive paper ribbon from Heidi Swapp, I believe.

Noel Tree ~ Stamps; Great Impressions ~ Paper; Neenah, Bazzill ~ Ink; Versamark, Versafine, Tim Holtz Distress Ink ~ other; Viva Decor Pearl Pens, Tim Holtz blending tool,  Judikins clear embossing powder, May Arts ribbon, K& Co. acrylic sticker 

 The GI tree was stamped with Versafine Onyx Black ink and embossed with Judikins clear EP. I then masked the tree and embossed the snowflake b/g with Versamark and embossed with clear EP. Then I took my TH Distress ink and blender tool and “colored” in my b/g over the embossed image. Next came the Viva Pearl Pens in various colors. These take a little time to dry thoroughly, so don’t be in too much of a hurry! After letting it dry overnight, I added the burgundy and white MA ribbon to the front panels and taped to the back before adhering to card base. I found a cute little acrylic sticker by K & Co. to adorn the ribbon and mimic the Pearl Pen bulbs.

OK, now three to go, but I have all of January!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

About cindi

card maker, scrapbooker, horse lover, Dashshund owner, cat collector, mother of 3 grown sons, grandmother of 6 , fashion lover, chauffer, cook, doctor, nurse, psychiatrist, photographer etc. etc.
This entry was posted in Card Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas Card Challenge 2012

  1. Both your cards are stunning. I too have noticed lots of corrugated goodness out there lately and I like all the different patterned papers AND those glittered numbers are to die for. The tree card is wonderful. I wouldn’t have guessed you sponged the background until you said so. You were very patient to put all those dots on the tree!!!

  2. Tami Grandi says:

    this is adorable! Thanks for playing in the amuse studio challenge!

  3. Lori Barnett says:

    Super cute! Love the Pearl Pens!

Leave a Reply

