My 2011 Christmas Collection

I started out my Christmas card planning by committing to using only scraps from my extensive stash to design my cards. All was well until I looked at the calendar and realized that time is racing by and the temptation to just buy a few boxes of cards was weighing heavily on my mind. That is when I decided to “repurpose” my already existing stash of cards from Christmases past that didn’t “make the cut”. Some were extras, some had crooked greetings, some I had made in other classes and didn’t like them etc. etc. So I decided to repurpose. Isn’t that the “green” thing to do?

I hope I remember to do before and afters from now on, just for my own entertainment! I love before and afters!

So, this first card started out as a small note sized card with a silver embossed Christmas tree on the scalloped oval.

I peeled the tree off and put the angel cut-out on it instead, and colored it in with Niji Pearlescent watercolors, Copics and white Uniball Signo. I had “issues” with the wing color, so I stamped another image and glued the wings on top and painted them in with Oyster shell Radiant Pearls. I then adhered a punched border to the left side and adhered that down to the flip side of the blue dot paper (striped). Then onto the white card base.

The next card had an ugly mustard colored oval in the middle with a greeting and a dew drop flanking each side. I had made this one in a class I took and never really liked it, but love the patterned paper, so I kept it in the “didn’t make the cut” pile.

So, I took the ugly oval off and replaced it with this cute vintage tag and added some gold cord. I then adhered it to what I think Bazzill calls “Pear” green card base. Much better, trust me!

Well, back to work for me, I want to send my cards out on Monday! Stay tuned for more makeovers!

About cindi

card maker, scrapbooker, horse lover, Dashshund owner, cat collector, mother of 3 grown sons, grandmother of 6 , fashion lover, chauffer, cook, doctor, nurse, psychiatrist, photographer etc. etc.
This entry was posted in Christmas cards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment